The Financial Express

Australia opt to bowl in first T20I

| Updated: August 04, 2021 13:37:42

Australia opt to bowl in first T20I

Australia have won the toss and opted to bowl first in the first T20I of the five-match series against Bangladesh on Tuesday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

This is Bangladesh’s first bilateral T20I series against Australia. It was in 2016 when these two teams faced each other in a T20I match.

Tigers are missing the service of the ace batsman Mushfiqur Rahim. Along with him, Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das are also out of action. While Tamim has been suffering from a knee injury, Liton is out due to family reasons.

Australia, on the other hand, are also missing some key players like of Steven Smith and David Warner who have chosen to skip this tour for personal reasons.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan(w), Mahmudullah(c), Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed

Australia (Playing XI): Josh Philippe, Alex Carey, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Ashton Turner, Matthew Wade(w/c), Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Share if you like