BNP nominates Bulbul, Sarwar for Rajshahi, Barishal city polls

| Updated: June 26, 2018 16:50:29

BNP nominates Bulbul, Sarwar for Rajshahi, Barishal city polls

BNP has nominated Moasaddek Hossain Bulbul and Mujibur Rahman Sarwar for Rajshahi and Barishal city corporation elections respectively.

Party's secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the names of two mayoral candidates at a press conference at BNP chairperson's Gulshan office on Sunday evening, reports UNB.

The party nominated incumbent mayor Bulbul in Rajshahi city, but it dropped Barishal's current mayor Ahsan Habib Kamal through nominating Sarwar.

But, the party did not announce the name of its mayoral runner for Sylhet city polls.

Fakhrul said they still could not finalise their mayoral candidate for Sylhet. "We'll announce Sylhet candidate's name on Monday."

The elections to Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barishal city corporations will be held on July 30.

On Thursday night, BNP's nomination board took interviews of 17 party nomination aspirants at party chairperson's Gulshan office to finalise the party's mayoral candidates to contest the elections to the three city corporations.

BNP insiders said the party dropped Barishal mayor Kamal as local leaders and activists are unhappy with him.

According to the election schedule announced by the Election Commission, the deadline for the submission of nomination papers is June 28, while the dates for scrutinising those are July 1 and 2, and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is July 9.

BNP candidates Bulbul, and Ariful Haque and Kamal were elected mayors in Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barisal city polls respectively in 2013.

Share if you like

Filter By Topic