The Financial Express

BNP forms committee to probe its clash with police in Bhola

| Updated: August 23, 2022 21:02:32

BNP forms committee to probe its clash with police in Bhola

BNP on Tuesday formed a 10-member committee to conduct a probe on a violent clash between its activists and police in Bhola that left local Swechchasebak Dal leader Abdur Rahim killed.

The committee, headed by BNP standing committee member Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, will also talk to the family members of Abdur Rahim and those injured in the incident and console them, reports UNB.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir formed the committee on Tuesday.

The other members of the committee are BNP vice chairmen Shamsuzzaman Dudu, advocate Zainal Abedin, former MP Zahir Uddin Swapan, organising secretary Bilkis Jahan Shirin, training affairs secretary ABM Mosharraf Hossain, joint organising secretary Akon Kuddusur Rahman, Mahbubul Haque Nannu, and Swechchasebak Dal president Mostafizur Rahman and Chhatra Dal general secretary Saif Mahmud Jewel.

Contacted, Gayeshwar said the committee members will go to Bhola and meet the family members of those killed and injured in police firing. “On behalf of our acting chairman Tariq Rahman, we’ll express sympathy to them.”

Besides, he said they will collect information from local people visiting the spot about the incident.

As part of BNP’s countrywide demonstration programme protesting the load shedding and mismanagement in the power sector, the leaders and activists of the party gathered in front of their district party office in Bhola on Sunday morning.

At one stage, police blocked them when they tried to stage demonstrations at Kalinath Roy Bazar around 11:30 am, triggering a clash. Later, police fired bullets and lobbed tear gas shells that left Abdur Rahim dead and injured many other leaders and activists of the party.

Share if you like

Filter By Topic