The Financial Express

Faridul Haque Khan sworn in as state minister

| Updated: November 27, 2020 09:39:11

Evaly and Fianancial Express Evaly and Fianancial Express
Faridul Haque Khan sworn in as state minister

Faridul Haque Khan Dulal, an MP from Jamalpur, has taken oath as a state minister.

President Md Abdul Hamid swore him in at the Bangabhaban’s Darbar Hall on Tuesday evening. Faridul also took oath of secrecy afterwards.

Typically, the presidential palace hosts a brief event when one or two ministers or state ministers take oath. But the arrangements were further downscaled this time due to the ongoing coronavirus outbreak. There were only 27 chairs for the guests.

The Prime Minister usually attends swearing-in ceremonies of ministers or state ministers, but Sheikh Hasina skipped the event due to the pandemic.

Cabinet Secretary Khandker Anwarul Islam moderated the event, reports bdnews24.com.

Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal, Information Minister Hasan Mahmud and top officials attended the ceremony.

Speculation was rife on social media about the swearing-in of a new state minister for religious affairs on Monday, while the media also reported on the matter. But the government remained tight-lipped about it.

Finally, Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader confirmed the development on Tuesday.

“I will work honestly and sincerely for the sake of the country and nation to achieve the objective, for which the honourable prime minister has given me the charge of this ministry,” Faridul told the media outside the Bangabhaban after taking the oath. 

“I will try to develop [the ministry],” he added.

The last state minister for religious affairs, Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah, was a technocrat. He died from a heart attack on Jun 13.

Faridul, 64, a ruling Awami League MP from Jamalpur-2 (Islampur), is representing the constituency for the third time.

Born on Feb 1, 1956, Faridul is also a jute businessman. He has studied up to higher secondary level.

A former chairman of Islampur Upazila council, he was made a member of the parliamentary standing committee on civil aviation and tourism ministry when he became an MP for the first time in 2008.

He is a member of the parliamentary standing committee on the home ministry now.


Share if you like