The Financial Express

Mamata Banerjee wins Nandigram by 1,200 votes

| Updated: May 02, 2021 21:38:52

Mamata Banerjee and Suvendu Adhikari Mamata Banerjee and Suvendu Adhikari

India’s Trinamool Congress leader Mamata Banerjee has won West Bengal’s Nandigram assembly seat by 1200 votes, defeating BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari.

Earlier in the day, when the counting started, BJP’s Adhikari was leading in the seat by more than 8000 votes, according to Indian news agencies.

The Nandigram assembly constituency was the biggest battleground, where sitting chief minister Mamata Banerjee challenged her former cabinet colleague and now BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari.


Share if you like