The Financial Express

Sri Lanka opt to bat first, Shoriful makes Test debut

| Updated: May 01, 2021 18:10:28

Sri Lanka opt to bat first, Shoriful makes Test debut

In the second Test of the two-match series between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bat first at Kandy on Thursday.

In this game, Bangladesh handed the Test cap to the left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam. He has earlier played three T20Is. Before getting his Test cap, Shoriful played eight First-class matches and bagged 22 wickets.

To pave way for Shoriful, Bangladesh rested the right-arm pace-bowler Ebadot Hossain, reports UNB.

Sri Lanka are without the injured Lahiru Kumara and Dilshan Madushanka for this Test match. They have added Lakshan Sandakan and Chamika Karunaratne to their squad.

It’ll be the 12th Test for Sandakan and debut for Chamika.

The first Test of the series ended in a draw on the flat track at the same venue.

Before taking the field in this game, Bangladesh coach Russell Doming insisted they are eager to win this game and as well as the series.

Bangladesh have never won a Test series in Sri Lanka. They won their last overseas Test five years ago and that came in Sri Lanka.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Abu Jayed.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Pathum Nissanka, Niroshan Dickwella, Ramesh Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama.

Share if you like