The Financial Express

Bangladesh opt to bowl in first ODI vs India

| Updated: December 04, 2022 19:12:24

Bangladesh opt to bowl in first ODI vs India

Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bowl first in the first ODI of the three-match series against India on Sunday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka. 

With this match, Liton Das started his ODI captaincy as the 15th man from Bangladesh. The regular captain of Bangladesh, Tamim Iqbal, was ruled out due to a groin injury. 

This is the first ODI in Dhaka after more than a year. 

Bangladesh fielded three pacers — Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman and Ebadot Hossain — in this match. Along with Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz is the second spinner for Bangladesh. 

Kuldeep Sen, a right-handed pacer, is making his debut for India. He has 25 wickets in 13 List-A matches so far. 

Bangladesh and India faced each other in 36 ODIs with India winning 30 of those and Bangladesh only five (one match ended with no result). The stats unmistakably indicate the gulf between these two teams. However, when the match is in Dhaka, Bangladesh proves to be a tenacious adversary to overcome, as Rohit Sharma astutely pointed out in his pre-series press meet.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Litton Das (c), Anamul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Mahmudullah Riyad, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Sen

Share if you like

Filter By Topic