The Financial Express

Bangladesh opt to bowl first in their opening game

| Updated: October 17, 2021 19:43:55

Photo: ESPNcricinfo Photo: ESPNcricinfo

Bangladesh have won the toss and opted to bowl first in their inaugural match of the T20 World Cup 2021 against Scotland.

The match will start at 8 pm Bangladesh time.

As it’s a day-night match, there is always a concern of dew-- hence the decision to bowl first. 

“We would like to bowl first. Looks like a good wicket, with plenty of runs, but we would like to chase it down, because of the dew factor,” said Mahmudullah, as quoted by Cricbuzz. 

The Scottish skipper Kyle Coetzer is not concerned about either batting or bowling first. He is confident of creating pressure on the chasing team with a good score put on the board.


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah(c), Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

Scotland (Playing XI): George Munsey, Kyle Coetzer(c), Matthew Cross(w), Richie Berrington, Calum MacLeod, Michael Leask, Chris Greaves, Mark Watt, Josh Davey, Safyaan Sharif, Bradley Wheal

Share if you like