Tamim hits fifty as Bangladesh take lead

Sunday, 25 April 2021

With only one session to play in the Kandy Test against Sri Lanka, Tamim Iqbal hit his second fifty of the match and Bangladesh managed to take a lead of seven runs at the Tea break of day five.

Tigers were batting at 100 for two in 33 overs with Tamim and Mominul were unbeaten for 74 and 23 respectively. The visitors now have to bat at least 35 overs to end this Test in a draw, reports UNB.

The Tigers lost two early wickets as Saif Hassan and Najmul Hossain failed to impress with the bat in the second innings. Saif had suffered a duck in the first innings, and in the second, he returned with one while Najmul had hit a ton in the first innings, but failed in the next as he suffered a duck. Both of the first two wickets were taken by Suranga Lakmal.

Sri Lanka declared their first innings on 648 for eight in 179 overs securing a 107-run first-innings lead. Tigers were sent to bat after the lunch break of the final day.

The hosts added 136 runs in the first session of the fifth day. Two overnight batsmen, Dimuth Karunarante (244) and Dhananjaya de Silva (166), were removed by Taskin Ahmed while Taijul Islam bagged the wicket of Wanindu Hasaranga and Ebadot Hossain scalped Pathum Nissanka.

For Bangladesh, Taskin bagged three wickets conceding 112 runs while Taijul took and Eabdot and Mehidy Hasan Miraz scalped one wicket each. Bangladesh removed five Sri Lankan batsman in the first session of the final day with one run out.

Earlier, Bangladesh declared the first innings at 541 for seven wickets in 173 overs before the lunch break of day three.

Najmul Hossain Shanto and Mominul Haque dominate in the first two days as they have struck a century each. It was the first Test for Najmul, and Mominul recorded his maiden century in away Tests.

Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das have struck a fifty each for the visitors.

It was the sixth-highest Test innings for the Tigers, and third highest in the overseas Tests.

For Sri Lanka, Vishwa Fernando was the most successful bowler who bagged four wickets in the batting paradise conceding 96 runs in 35 overs while Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara and Dhananjaya de Silva took one wicket each.