Nine HC judges take oaths

FE ONLINE REPORT | Tuesday, 19 October 2021

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered oaths to nine High Court (HC) judges today (Tuesday).

Earlier on Monday, President Md Abdul Hamid permanently appointed nine additional judges in the High Court Division of the Supreme Court.

Md Saifur Rahman, special officer of Bangladesh Supreme Court, said in a statement issued on Tuesday that Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oaths to them at the Judges' Lounge at the Supreme Court building at 11:00am.

The newly permanent judges are Justice Muhammad Mahbub-ul-Islam, Justice Shahed Nuruddin, Justice Md Zakir Hossain, Justice Md Akhtaruzzaman, Justice Md Mahmud Hasan Talukder, Justice Kazi Ebadat Hossain, Justice KM Zahid Sarwar, Justice AKM Zahirul Haque and Justice Kazi Zinat Hoque.

After the approval of the President, a gazette notification, signed by Md Golam Sarwar, the secretary of Law and Justice Division under the Ministry of Law, was issued on Monday.

The appointments were made by the president in consultation with the Chief Justice in accordance with the powers conferred by Article 95 of the Constitution of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh, as per the gazette.

Earlier on October 20 in 2019, the president appointed these nine people as additional judges of the High Court Division for two years.

[email protected]