Heartbreak for Mathews as he joins 199 club

Monday, 16 May 2022

Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews became the 12th batter in the history of Test cricket to be out on 199.

His heartbreak feat came against Bangladesh Monday at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium when he tried to slog a delivery of offspinner Nayeem but instead ended up giving a simple catch to Shakib Al Hasan at square leg, according to BSS.

Mathews who was key in helping Sri Lanka to post 397 before being all out in the first innings of the first Test struck 19 fours and one six in his 397-ball-knock.

He is the second Sri Lanka batter to be out on 199 in the list after Sanath Jayasuriya.

He is the second batter who was out on 199 against Bangladesh. Earlier South African captain Dean Elgar was dismissed for 199 against Bangladesh in Senwes Park in 2017.

Mathews's compatriot Kumar Sangakkara and Zimbabwe's Andy Flower also had scores of 199 but they remained not out.

Pakistan's Mudassar Nazar was the first batter to be out on 199 against archrivals India in 1984. India's Mohammad Azharuddin was the second one in 1986.

The heartbreaking feat came via Australia's Matthew Elliott after 11 years against England after that and till now continued.

Angelo Mathews though led the side astutely, he was lucky to some extent. On 38, he overturned the umpire's decision through review and then again survived on 69 when Mahmudul Hasan dropped him at slip off Taijul Islam's bowling.

In 119, he again survived. In the fourth over of the second day's game, he edged a delivery of pacer Syed Khaled Ahmed to wicketkeeper Liton Das but no one appealed for the dismissal, thinking that the ball didn't touch the bat. Later the TV replay showed that the ball touched Mathews's bat before going to the wicket-keeper.

Players scoring 199 in an innings

Mudassar Nazar (Pakistan) vs India 1984

Mohammad Azharuddin (India) vs Sri Lanka 1986

Matthew Elliott (Australia) vs England 1997

Sanath Jayasuiriya (Sri Lanka) vs India 1997

Steve Waugh (Australia) vs West Indies 1999

Andy Flower* (Zimbabwe) vs South Africa 2001

Younis Khan (Pakistan) vs India 2006

Ian Bell (England) vs South Africa 2008

Kumar Sangakkara* (Sri Lanka) vs Pakistan 2012

Steve Smith (Australia) vs West Indies 2015

KL Rahul (India) vs England 2016

Dean Elgar (South Africa) vs Bangladesh 2017

Faf Du Plessis (South Africa) vs Sri Lanka 2020

Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka) vs Bangladesh 2022

*Andy Flower and Kumar Sangakkara were not out on 199