The Financial Express

Narayanganj city election on Jan 16

| Updated: November 30, 2021 22:06:08

Narayanganj city election on Jan 16

The election to Narayanganj City Corporation (NCC) will be held on January 16 using electronic voting machines (EVMs) at all polling stations.

The Election Commission (EC) announced the schedule for the local body polls on Tuesday, reports UNB.

The election schedule was finalised in an EC meeting held with Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda in the chair on Tuesday.

EC Secretary Md Humayun Kabir announced the schedule after the meeting.

According to the schedule, the deadline for the submission of nomination papers is December 15, while the date for scrutinising nomination papers is December 20 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is December 27.

The balloting will held from 8am to 4pm without any break. It is the third election for the Narayanganj City Corporation after its formation in 2011.

More elections

Besides, the parliamentary by-polls to Tangail-7 constituency and five municipalities will also be held on January 16 next.

The five municipalities are Noakhali, Natore (postponed polls), Bagatipara of Natore, Jhikargachha of Jashore and Banshkhali of Chattogram.

The EVMs will also be used in the parliamentary by-election and the five local body polls.

The Tangail-7 constituency fell vacant with death of Awami League MP Akabbar Hossain on November 16 last.

Share if you like