The Financial Express

Banks to remain closed Tuesday in Bogura-1, Jashore-6 areas

| Updated: July 16, 2020 17:19:49

Banks to remain closed Tuesday in Bogura-1, Jashore-6 areas

All branches of scheduled banks will remain closed on Tuesday in areas under Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 parliamentary seats which will go to by-polls.

The decision was taken in compliance with the demand of the Election Commission, said a Bangladesh Bank Circular.

It mentioned that the Ministry of Public Administration has declared general holiday in the areas for the by-polls.

Two parliamentary constituencies –- Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 – are going to by-elections on Tuesday. The election commission has completed all necessary preparations.

Jessore-6 and Bogra-1, which fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Ismat Ara Sadique and Abdul Mannan respectively, were supposed to go to polls on March 29 according to the election schedules announced initially.

But the EC had to postpone the election schedules in the wake of the outbreak of coronavirus in the country.

The EC recently announced fresh schedule for the parliamentary by-elections fixing July 14 for casting votes.

Share if you like